top of page
Search
  • glynjepson

Andy's Story


I have known Glyn now for over 40 years, having played cricket in the same U18 team as him, although I did less playing and more watching, whilst he did most of the playing!


The shock news last year via Facebook of Glyn’s condition brought back memories of how lucky I was 10 years ago with a cancer scare of my own; having a salivary gland removed after a tumour was found.


When we met up for a curry a few weeks ago and he unveiled his mad plan to cycle just under a 1000 miles to the South of France, it seemed to fit in with some of the mad challenges I have done in my life. I subsequently started “carb-loading” that very same night, my training had started, and it was going well.


Having ridden a bike no more than 10 times in the last 20 years, and been a few stone over weight, this seemed like the perfect challenge: supporting Glyn, getting fitter, and raising some funds for two amazing charities.


I’m no stranger to attempting slightly mad challenges, but this is certainly the toughest one yet. I suppose doing things like Everest Base Camp 15 years ago, also for MacMillan Cancer Support, started my own middle aged madness. This was followed by a number of trips to 20,000ft hills in Nepal and Northern India’s Himalaya regions, meeting some truly inspirational people (you know who you are, and how I admire you for what you have been through, and how you now give back). I don’t think I have ever really done “normal life”. At 18, I set out to walk the Pennine way - how was I to know that playing three games of squash the week before starting wasn’t enough training? And after four days, I got weigh-laid by a great Theakston pub , so that was the end of that attempt. I have subsequently done it a couple of times. Walking the Coast to Coast during lockdown was also another mad adventure.


I have been lucky enough to do sensible things though, like Scuba diving with sharks around the world over the course of the last 25 years. That said, having my mask kicked off at over 200ft whilst in the Red Sea is another crazy thing to have happened to me (thanks Wendy).

Fundamentally, I really believe that it is better to try and fail than not try at all (although my attempts at ballroom dancing for my wife, pushed this belief to its extremes!) This is an amazing challenge, for a fantastic charity, and I thank you in advance for any support you can give via the donation page. Twiggs PS: I finally signed up about 2 weeks after the curry night when Glyn informed me that Laurens route takes us past the best pie shops and pubs France has to offer!

95 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page