top of page
Search
  • glynjepson

Lauren's Story


Why am I joining the Tour de Cas team?


I am a keen cyclist and I ride regularly with Valley Striders who are based in North Leeds, I have taken part in various sportive events in the past and I have done the Coast to Coast ride before. However, I have never ridden my bike more than 3 days consecutively, so when I heard Glyn was planning this I thought it would be a great idea for me to join in and support him and the others in getting through this challenge.


Cancer has been very prevalent in our family with a few people suffering from it recently and it took Grandpa George from us in 2019.


Aside from the cycling, I’m a keen tennis player and have played from the age of 5 in Roundhay. This keeps me fit and active throughout the year as I play in various teams for Roundhay and also Knaresborough. I regularly go walking in the Lake District, and I like to call Keswick my second home. I’ve always enjoyed getting out into the hills and seeing new sights, and I’m usually armed with my camera. Back in 2017 I set out to walk to the top of Mt. Kilimanjaro shortly after losing my nanna to Dementia, I suffered with altitude sickness (loosing vision in my left eye!) on the summit day, but I made it to Gilmans Point (5685m / 18652 ft above sea level) and raised just short of £2000 for the Alzheimer’s society.


But at the end of the day, the real reason for taking part in the ride (as well of raising money for 2 great causes) is to have fun, see different parts of France, and eat lots of freshly baked pastries and baguettes en-route J


Lauren

133 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page